Tonight I went to a book club meeting for Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo. It was a small group of about 7 people of which I was the youngest. Everyone else was in their 40s-60s. When I mentioned this to my sister, she laughed and explained that book clubs/groups are for old people. I went to argue with her when I realized that I was the only young person that I knew who went to these things. Since I’m planning on eventually leading my own book clubs, I now have to wonder are book clubs among younger people impossible or if Facebook has completely changed the definition and purpose of a book club for forever.
Am I one of the only young people left that wants to meet face to face to discover and discuss books? I guess I’ll find out in the next couple of weeks when I hold my very first book club event at the end if this month.

